Passing Parameters in Behaviours

Jan 24, 2011 at 9:49 AM

I'm quite new to both WP7 and MVVM so I thought a good start would be to start reading Jesse Liberty's posts using MVVM Light and WP7.

In his most recent post he demonstrates passing parameters in behaviours to help build a master-detail application. Unfortunately his post stops at the point I needed most help on...

...in his post on selecting an item a RelayCommand is executed with the Customer as a parameter. He then just shows a simple message box to show some detail about the customer.

What I would be interested in seeing is how the parameter is passed to the DetailsViewModel, followed by navigation to the DetailsPage. 

My first attempt had me creating 2 messages (one for the navigation and one for the Customer(changed)) but this doesn't feel right :( 

Any comments would be appreciated...(the following code is my first attempt for you to laugh at)

public MainViewModel()
        {
            DetailsPageCommand = new RelayCommand<Customer>((msg) => ShowCustomerDetails(msg));
        }

private object ShowCustomerDetails(Customer msg)
        {

// 2 messages are thrown, one to go to the right page and the second to set the customer context
            Messenger.Default.Send<Customer>(msg);

var pageMessage = new GoToPageMessage { PageName = "Details" };
            Messenger.Default.Send<GoToPageMessage>(pageMessage);

return null;
        }

Coordinator
Jan 24, 2011 at 10:51 AM

Hi,

As usual there are multiple ways to solve this.

1. Send one message only, but have two recipients for this message, one that sets the selected customer, and the other recipient that navigates to the page.
  2. Avoid messages altogether, and instead use a hierarchy of viewmodels, and a navigation service.
  3. Use a message to set the customer, and the navigation service to navigate

Number 2 is usually my favorite for the scenario you mention: